1. SIMD

    SIMD represents the Single Instruction Multiple Data. The main benefit from SIMD technology provides the capability to perform parallel mathematical operations with a single instruction.

  1. MMX

    MMX represents the Multimedia Extensions. It is a SIMD instruction set designed by Intel. The main purpose of MMX is to perform SIMD operations on integer data types.

  2. SSE

    SSE represents the Streaming SIMD Extension. SSE’s main purpose is to perform SIMD operations on floating-point data. The SSE architecture provides SIMD supports for packed single-precision floating-point values.

  3. SSE2

    The SSE2 architecture expands on the core SSE architecture by add five new data types, and expands on the SSE instructions by providing instructions for performing mathematical operations on packed double-precision floating-point values, and 128-bit packed integer values.

  4. SSE3

    The SSE3 architecture does not provide for any new data types, just a few new instructions to either help perform standard functions quicker, or to provide new fancier instructions.

¶ The end

Share Link: